top of page

Catalyst Pedals: Finally a Flat Pedal Clipless Killer?

Schralp Help Product Review

Using PILOT format

  • P - the product

  • I - the idea

  • L - the limitations

  • O - the optimism

  • T - takeaways

Background:

I am a self-confessed flat pedal head. I’ve only ever known flat pedals, especially while mountain biking. The closest I’ve ever gotten to clipless pedals are toe clips installed on the flat pedals of my commuter bike. I recognize this is far from the experience of that of riding clipless.

Given that I’ve had previous knee surgery, I really have no plans to even given clipless pedals a go. It’s a mental hump I just cannot get past. I won’t get deep into the debate of clipless versus flat pedals in this article. I know there are advantages and disadvantages of each.

My most recent pedals were Shimano Saint MX80. From many fellow riders and countless articles read, it seemed by and large I was at a disadvantage by riding flats rather than clipless. Looking for any advantage I could get, I stumbled upon a podcast featuring mountain bike strength and conditioning coach (and innovator), James Wilson, who discussed his Pedaling Innovations company.

The Product: Catalyst Pedals

As you can see they are indeed flat pedals. ($99 USD)

(Photo: Ewan Anderson, Pedal Innovations website)

The Idea:

Wilson and his website can tell you about this pedaling innovation best, but in short Catalyst Pedals are all about contact position and surface area for the foot. They improve your pedalling by improving a hat-trick of biker’s desirables:

  • Power

  • Efficiency

  • Comfort and stability

Measuring about 5 ¼”, the pedals are approximately 1 ¼” longer than your typical standard flat pedal (4”).

Dimensions: 95mm wide x 16mm thick x 143mm long

Weight: 505 grams per pair

As the Gear Institute notes: “the Catalyst pedal is designed to equally support the front and back of the foot’s arch, which positions the arch over the pedal’s axle. This position allows the rider to remain flat-footed on the pedal instead of having to continually flex the foot to deliver consistent power.”

The Limitations:

Let's get this out of the way, shall we - bery few! As a spoiler alert, the benefits certainly outweigh any drawbacks. Given the size of the pedal, I may have slightly more pedal strikes, but no pedal (flat or clipless) is free from this. When I do strike, it is probably a quick error in judgement where I probably performed a stroke at an inopportune time or may have benefited from a half stroke.

Optimistic Outlook:

Despite the increase in size (and thus weight), these pedals have noticeably improved my riding. I feel more balance, more in control, and more confident both on descents and when cornering. I feel I am incorporating more leg muscles than previous with less low back pain during climbing.

One of the absolutely terrific benefits I find is that my foot goes naturally in the correct position on these pedals. The large platform also provides a big margin for error for foot placement. This allows for more consistent power delivery. Maybe there is some form of the placebo effect here, but my biking quantifying apps (Garmin Connect, Strava) highlight the improvements I’ve made since using them.

The learning curve was definitely short - I adapted to using these pedals within a few rides. It was at the beginning of my biking season as well; within a couple of weeks I felt super confident with them.

Pinkbike’s Paul Aston had this to say: “The Catalyst changed my view on flat pedals by making it feel as if I had more power, better balance, and the ability to maintain my form for longer periods of time during sustained physical efforts.”

DirtMag’s Jon Pratt noted after some time adjusting he was “experiencing less leg and joint soreness after my rides.”

Singletracks’ Colton Lock, a regular clipless rider, reports: “If you typically use flat pedals I think you will definitely feel more comfortable on the Catalyst than a smaller pedal. If you ride clipless like I do, I think that the Catalyst is a phenomenal training tool and an excellent choice for any enduro or downhill rides.”

Takeaways:

Given I call the Catalyst Pedals my secret weapon as a flat pedal rider, you can likely guess my conclusion that these pedals are a worthwhile investment. I think they are aptly named "Catalyst" as I think they propel you to better riding.

I should also note I am using these pedals in conjunction with Five Ten Freerider Pro MTB shoes.

What's been your experience with flat pedals? Are you contemplating switching either from flat to clipless pedals or from clipless to flats, or do you go back and forth between the two depending on the type of riding? Let us know in the comments below.

Ride often. Ride strong. JFR.

Podcast:

The Angry Mountain Biker - longterm review

Videos:

bottom of page