top of page

Is there Secret to Mountain Biking Forever?

L O N G E V I T Y.

P A S S I O N.

MEET HUMAN IN NATURE: COLIN

Today I met fellow #humanINature, Colin.

He soon told me in 2019 he would turn 65 years young. He didn’t look it. Not even close. He seemed forever young.

“Get a bicycle. You will certainly not regret it, if you live.” — Mark Twain

CONNECTION

Colin was just finishing up a mountain biking ride in magnifique Fish Creek Park in Calgary, Canada’s second largest urban park. For perspective, Fish Creek is three times the size of Vancouver’s more famous Stanley Park.

I was just starting my fatbike adventure. Talks of bikes, trail conditions soon ensued and sparked deeper conversation. Seemingly, we connected almost instantaneously, certainly not uncommon amongst mountain bikers, with smiles and kindness frequently encountered.

NATURE AND BIKING

For this “humanINature” project, I planned to ask people what nature means to them, their story, their connection with the outdoors, why it matters to them. I confess the plan is still evolving.

With Colin, I didn’t need to ask specific questions. I could simply see and hear the passion when he spoke quite animated about mountain biking adventures of past, present, and future. He enthusiastically described his love of mountain biking in Arizona and Utah with plans to return there soon. He has been mountain biking since the ’90s, coming from a background of racing dirt bikes.

And then we spoke of bikes…

Colin was riding a 2014 Intense Carbine (27.5” tires).

Of course, this time of year, I’m riding Fatima the Fatbike from Moose Bicycles. He inquired about my regular ride, Penelope the Santa Cruz TB3, a 29er.

But, of course:

n + 1 is the formula of how many bikes one needs, with n = current # of bike one owns.

eBIKES: NUISANCE OR GATEWAY TO MORE RIDING?

Colin went on to tell me his recent demo ride of a Bulls Estream FS AM3 mountain eBike, with the quiet Brose motor, all German engineered, from Alberta eBikes. He really loved the bike. Like me, he wasn’t too enthused to own an eBike. Like me, he has also come around to the benefits this new technology can bring. Imagine: covering more distance over the same time, still getting just as good a workout, faster recovery between rides, and keeping on riding as one ages. I can certainly get behind that.

Colin emphasized his goal:

“I have to find a way to keep on riding.”

A man after my own heart.

“Bike more, worry less.”

Ride free.

Ride smart.

Ride strong.

Ride happy.

Just effen RIDE. JFR.

bottom of page